Proteas name squad for men’s 2024 T20 World Cup

White-ball head coach Rob Walter has today announced the 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in the USA and West Indies from 01 – 29 June.

Aiden Markram will lead the side in what will be his first World Cup assignment since being named T20 International (T20I) captain.

The squad includes two uncapped T20I players – DP World Lions batter Ryan Rickelton and Hollywoodbets Dolphins fast bowler Ottniel Baartman.

Rickelton finished as the leading run-scorer of the second edition of the Betway SA20 with 530 runs at an average of 58.88 for MI Cape Town, while Baartman took 18 wickets in eight matches for defending champions Sunrisers Eastern Cape and is currently with Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Capitals.

The team will also benefit from the expertise of batters Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller and the promising Tristan Stubbs.

Leading the pace attack will be Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje supported by Marco Jansen and Gerald Coetzee. Other notable selections include three front-line spinners in CSA T20 Challenge winning captain Bjorn Fortuin, Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi.

Pace pair Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi have been named as the travelling reserves.

“Firstly, I want to congratulate all the players that have made the cut,” said Walter.

“Selecting this group was extremely tough considering the amount of T20 cricket that has been played recently and the form that has been on show. I want to congratulate the two uncapped players, Ryan and Ottniel, on their selection.

“We have seen some incredible performances from our players in 2024 and that made my job very tough indeed. I am nonetheless proud and confident that we have named the strongest possible squad that no doubt has every chance of success in the West Indies and USA.”

Walter has also named a provisional squad for the preceding three-match T20I series against West Indies. This group will change and have players added to it when management is aware of IPL player availability.

The provisional squad will assemble for a week-long camp from 13 – 17 May at the Centre of Excellence in Pretoria, with the final squad set to be announced prior to their departure on 18 May.

Walter added: “Our preparations for the tournament will start with a three-match T20I series against West Indies. For this tour we will unfortunately be without most of the players who are currently involved in the IPL.

“But it does provide an opportunity for others, especially those who excelled in the CSA T20 Challenge. A captain for the group will be finalised closer to the time.”

South Africa squad – ICC Men’s T20 World Cup West Indies and USA 2024

Aiden Markram (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Ottniel Baartman (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions) Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans) and Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors).

Travelling Reserves

Nandre Burger (World Sports Betting Western Province) and Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans)


Rob Walter (Head Coach), Khomotso Volvo Masubelele (Team Manager), Jean-Paul Duminy (Batting Coach), Eric Simons (Bowling Coach), Wandile Gwavu (Fielding Coach), Thomas Dawson-Squibb (Performance Coach), Runeshan Moodley (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Matthew Reuben (Performance Analyst), Sizwe Hadebe (Physiotherapist), Dr Konrad von Hagen (Team Doctor), Kyle Botha (Logistics and Masseur) and Lucy Davey (Media Manager).

South Africa T20I provisional squad against West Indies

Ottniel Baartman (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Matthew Breetzke (Dafabet Warriors), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Patrick Kruger (Dafabet Warriors), Wiaan Mulder (DP World Lions), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Nqaba Peter (DP World Lions), Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans) and Rassie van der Dussen (DP World Lions).

South Africa Group Stage Itinerary – ICC Men’s T20 World Cup West Indies and USA 2024

Monday, 03 June – 10:30 (16:30 SAST)

Sri Lanka vs South Africa – Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

Saturday, 08 June – 10:30 (16:30 SAST)

Netherlands vs South Africa – Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

Monday, 10 June – 10:30 (16:30 SAST)

South Africa vs Bangladesh – Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

Friday, 14 June – 19:30 (01:30 SAST)

South Africa vs Nepal – Arnos Vale Ground, St Vincent

Related articles

Warriors make it 5 wins from 5

Matthew Breetzke’s half century coupled with another sensational bowling display by Siya Simetu helped the Dafabet Warriors make it five […]