Club Champs set to roll out in Pretoria

The Momentum National Club Championships get underway on Saturday with six of South Africa’s premier clubs set to battle it out for the title in Pretoria.

The April 13-17 competition, which is put together by Cricket South Africa (CSA), encompasses the six outright winners of the Franchise regional play-offs, all playing against each other in a 50-over format.

“The National Club Championship aims to provide a higher level of playing exposure to Premier league clubs,” explained Johan Weyers, Senior Cricket Manager at CSA. “It is the pinnacle of the club cricket calendar where players can showcase their talents against the best in the country.

“Cricket South Africa’s drive within the Club environment is to elevate the status of all Clubs in five key areas.

“They are; the number of teams playing, qualified coach attachment to clubs, representation, facilities and administration.

“The CSA ‘‘Blue Flag’’ status serves as recognition to Clubs that drive that and excel in all of the above areas.”

The six teams to have qualified for the 2019 edition of the Club Championships are Durbanville Cricket Club (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Clares Cricket Club (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Kovsies Cricket Club (VKB Knights), Assupol Tukscricket (Multiply Titans), Madibaz Cricket Club (Warriors) and Impala Cricket Club (bizhub Highveld Lions).

“We would like to wish the six participating clubs all the best for the week,” Weyers added. “On behalf of Cricket South Africa, I would also like to thank our sponsors Momentum for the endless support they have provided us.”

There are three matches scheduled for each day, with the first set of fixtures seeing Durbanville face Impala, at Irene Country Club, Clares take on Madibaz at Mandela Oval and Kovsies lock horns with Tuks at Tuks Oval.

Live scoring of the National Club Championships taking place in Pretoria will be available at www.websports.co.za.

Related articles

SWD squad set for 20/21

ABOVE: Jedhli van Briesies (Photo by EJ Langner/Gallo Images) South Western Districts Cricket (SWDC) has announced five new signings as part […]